Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

chapter fllow

Hi .. my background is feature writing ... 800 - 1500 words to a deadline and I think it shows in my main body of work.#
My early chapters are from the perspective of different members of a family - so each chapter is quite different in tone. However, my fear is that this could make for a disjointed novel, chapters being almost short stories.
Additionally, if there are five main characters - surely it will be cumbersome for each to have a chapter like this .... lordy, lordy, lordy!
comments hugely welcomed

Comments

• Could you start off with the story line as from third person and then at a particular trigger point in the story bring in the chapters that are from each character's point of view, and interweave them? This could be effective if each time you do this you end up at a later point in the story.
  • [quote=beebythesea]surely it will be cumbersome for each to have a chapter like this[/quote] They'll each have several chapters each, won't they, over the course of the novel?

As long as all five characters are clearly telling the same story, although from different viewpoints, I think it'd be OK. The Patchwork Marriage by Jane Green uses multiple viewpoint characters in this way (I think there were only 4 though)
  • I have a friend who started a novel from 4 different viewpoints. It was cumbersome. Very difficult to write and get the balance of the story correct. In the end she went with three and it was a lot better. I fact it worked. Three is the magic number. This is a person with a brain like a computer and a mellifluous style - it stodged.

You'd have to submerge the importance of two characters though.
  • I think it sounds fine - an accurate reflection of family life with everyone having their own experiences and grievances!