Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Hello.

edited August 2007 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• Hello. May I come in? I'm new to all this. I've almost finished a novel about the Air Transport Auxiliary of WWII and I'm having a seriously hard time persuading an agent to read it. Any hints, advice, anyone?
  • Hi Sky (high) bit silly that. Welcome. No advice from me sorry as I aspire to reaching the finish line. However, you will get plenty of advice and guidance here.  There a great lot, some with invaluable experience.  Good Luck (cobber?)
  • Hi. I,ve just won the Writers' News non-fiction award so maybe I can help?

First you need someone who is an expert in the subject to read it and evaluate it for accuracy. I am currently editing a novel set on the wartime railways and am finding it full of historical-factual errors.If he'd just had it proofread for typos then sent it to an agent, thence to a publisher, nobody would have known that it was full of historical inaccuracies.

So, I think getting someone knowledgeable in that area is an absolute must!

If I can help you further do not hesitate ...

Helena Wojtczak
  • Many thanks for that. I love 'Cobber' but I'm afraid I'm still rather too 'Pommie'!
  • Helena, I'm grateful for your input. I am okay with the technicalities and the historical stuff but would really appreciate someone with expertise in that particular area taking a look.
  • Then find out who has written about the subject and write to them! H
  • That's the reason the subject sparked my interest initially... No one has written about it - at least no one still living.
  • Hi there and welcome.  You may well find this is a tricky market to break into but concentrate on those who take War books of all and any kind, ask them. There are publishers who will look at war related books.
  • Hi Skyhigh, I'm glad you've dropped in.