Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Writers block - that old chestnut!

edited August 2007 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• Hi, I've just this minute registered so thought I might as well get posting straight away.
    I'm new to writing (well technically I have been writing since primary school)and think I might need some guidance/encouragement.
    At the ripe age of 33 I've finally decided this is what I want to do but am finding it hard to get off my backside and DO IT. The trouble is I want to do it all, novels,short stories,articles,scripts etc. and consequently do none of it!
    I've decided I've GOT to focus on something and I think that might be short stories. It's time I really got stuck in, as there's so much inside that I need to say.

The Old West story where people take it in turns to write lines is a fantastic idea, I might have a go at that later.

All the best
    A
  • Welcome to the site Andrew. I'm sure you'll find your niche for writing. Try the different types and genres, and you'll quickly realise which one suits you best.
  • Hi Andrew. Welcome. Had you thought about doing a course? It gives a focus to your writing and can spur you on. WN do a good a good home study course for short story writers. I'm sure if you search this site you'll find more recommendations.