Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Thumbnail Sketch. Confused.

edited July 2006 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• Hello all,
            I have just had a new assignment sent me from W/N.
            I am a bit confused. My tutor is asking for a thumbnail sketch including verbs to be used later in my story.
                   My confusion is, I thought a Thumbnail meant a description of my characters, and background on them.
                        So Is she asking for a sketch of my story or my characters, or both, and How would I actually go about this, I am very confused as to the including verbs, can anybody advise me on this please. As you can probably tell I am brand new to writing.
                  Any help much appreciated.
                         Angie.

• Angie,

I always assume a Thumbnail sketch is an outline of my work. Either a brief synopsis or chapter outline (I always put both). I've not done a W/N course though, so it may be helpful to wait for someone who has.
  • Angie, what course are you doing?  If it is the novel, then I would imagine the tutor would look for more than the short story for example.  I have done two courses  with WN. With both I was given query sheets for each assignment to ask questions.  If you want to be sure why not ask the tutor?
  • Hi Angie - firstly don't panic.  I would interpret it to mean an outline of your plot.  The verbs you might use would depend upon the genre of your story and the action and interchanges that take place.  A simple example: if you are writing, say a murder story or thriller the verbs you might use are words such as strangle, pounding, stab.  Similarly if you are writing a romance the verbs might be kiss, glance.  I think what is called for is an outline of the story with some 'action' words included.