Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

formatting dialogue

edited January 2012 in - Writing Problems
HELP! Informed advice (Marina Oliver) says that each new speaker must have a new indented paragraph but you don't indent if the speech is in the middle of a sentence.
So far so good. BUT how do I deal with this snippet from my novel?
-------------------------
They drove into the deserted town square.
"Spooky, ain't it?" Bert whispered, as if afraid to break the silence.
Green shivered; "There should at least be a dog," he said; "Let's get out of here."
"Can't be soon enough for me," agreed Bert, and put his foot down hard on the accelerator.
-------------------------------------
It looks bitty, doesn't it? Can anyone tell me what's right?
This is my first time on Talkback, so I've no idea if this is the sort of thing it's used for!

Comments

• Other TeeBee-ers will correct me if I'm wrong but the only things which look wrong to me are the semi-colons.

Green shivered. "There should be at least a dog," he said. "Let's get out of here."
    "Can't be soon enough for me," agreed Bert, and put his foot down hard on the accelerator.

and as for indentation, as I understand it:

First line not indented (unless you intend it as a new paragraph)
    "Spooky ain't it?" etc indented.
    Green shivered. etc indented.
    "Can't be soon enough..." etc indented.

I have found this whole indenting thing the hardest thing to master, and I've been at it for two years now.

By the way
    " " for American punctuation

' ' for British punctuatin.

And finally, welcome to TB - nice to have another admission to the madhouse.
  • I agree. Those semi-colons are so wrong! Simple full stops or commas, as appropriate!