Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

When to give up?

edited February 2012 in - Writing Problems
Pants! That is all I can think right now. I wonder why I bother. I just got feedback from my writing tutor, and to say it wasn't good is an understatement. I can't write stories, and now I can't write articles.

So why do I bother? I have thought of giving up. But the problem is, I don't want to do a 'proper' job. I want to write for a living.

Yeah, I know, I'm probably being melodramatic. But I am not sure I can cope with being a dead beat wannabe for the rest of my life. But if I could earn from writing I wouldn't be taking a course right?

Just so you know, my 'article' (hahahahahaha) wasn't original enough, was a regurgitation and that quite frankly it was poorly written for the chosen market.

Poor me :(

Comments

• Oh dear! If I can take you back to the novel writing course that I did with WM many years ago. I had had some success with article writing but novels were a new field. There was more red ink on the page than my original typing! I'm sure you are a quick learner and will soon be getting A+++. Enjoy the journey.
  • That's one article, SamP, not your writing career in its entirety. Don't despair: take a deep breath, a chocolate muffin - the ones with the gooey centres work best for this - and a hot cup of tea/coffee/chocolate/chicory to wash it down.
    Then go to your favourite writing magazine and read its advice: sketch out a few ideas for some of the competitions, especially the ones you wouldn't normally try.
    Go and flick through a book with lots of photos in it, and see if there is something there that would start a story off in your head.