Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Back to front blogs? Chronological query

mjbmjb
edited July 2016 in - Website Problems
I am a newbie here - so forgive me if this has been raised before - however I find it a bit odd that all the discussion blogs here are in chronological order, with the oldest stuff first, on Page 1. This means that if you want to see the latest postings you have to scroll to the bottom of Page 1 (which requires the awkward use of two scroll bars) then click on the last page number showing. Would it not be more sensible to present the material in reverse chronological order? With the most recent page of posts being the first thing you see when you click on the discussion link? Of course, I realise that I might be being a complete muppet, and someone will point out that there is a setting somewhere I can change to display the posts in reverse chronological order. Or that this has been raised before many times, but doing such a change would cause major disruption and give the IT dept nightmares.

Comments

• The blog update post has been going a long time so the latest posts are on the highest page number.

On the previous board we could set some things to display certain ways, but when that board collapsed and had to be replaced quickly, it's meant we have a less than ideal set-up, but once you get used to the way it works you don't notice.
  • The posts are in a kind of reverse chronological order, as the page will go to the last page that you looked at within a thread. So, as you are new, it will go to the earliest page, as you haven't looked at any of the posts before.
    Once you've been here a while that will make sense!!
    The two scroll bars are a pain, but unfortunately that is the way the forum works now.
    It will be worth it when you see how wise and wonderful we all are.