Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Intro

Hi, I'm Glenda.  I am studying English Lit and Creative Writing with the OU, and doing a 40 hour week job.  I am finding it incredibly stressful, and any confidence I had in my ability as a writer has taken a huge knock.  I would love to hear from anyone starting out on a writing course, or writing for fun or to be published, to find out the highs and lows to expect on my journey, or just to say hello!

Thanks - look forward to hearing from  you

Comments

• HI Glenda

well done you - that's a lot to be going on with. I wish you well.

• Hi Glenda, sorry you're feeling knocked back with your writing. I think I'm fairly safe in saying that you are in good company. Even the most successful of writers have all had to go through the learning curve, so don't give up. Learning to write well is no different to learning any other artistic skill. Whether you're a fledgling writer, musician, painter or dancer - it doesn't come handed on a plate and the secret is to keep learning and practising. 
    Good luck and welcome to the forum.
  • Hello Glenda, and welcome.
    Gosh, you are a busy bee!

It's always hard to perform under stress so don't misinterpret that as lack of talent. Your best writing will come when you have a clear head, and I'm sure you will find it enjoyable when you can write at your own pace. 

The highs come from seeing an idea through from birth to completion; acknowledgement of that through comment or publication is an added bonus, of course.

As a note of caution, be prepared for rejection; it comes with the territory, much like actors go to many auditions before they are picked for the right role. Just remember not to take that personally.