Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Have you ever kept your writing desire a secret?

edited January 2007 in - Reading

Comments

• I currently work for an Investment Bank and I basically deal with numbers all day long. (Not my wisest choice in life but hey, it pays the mortgage!) However, not one of my colleagues actually knows a thing about my love for writing. Is that odd? Am I just a complete nut-nut?!
  • Not necessarily, I’ve kept quiet about it before now if I feel that I’m in an environment where it won’t be respected. There have been times that I’ve had snide remarks and even open hostility directed towards me for being a writer, I wonder if it’s the same as any other form of jealousy or discrimination against the ‘different’.
  • I kept quiet for years and then I had my mid-life crisis and announced my intention to be a writer and a few other things (?), including telling my boss, at the time, that I would rather show my **se in Woolworths window before working for her again...then I left never to return.  But I wouldn't necessarily recommend that course of action to anyone! :)
  • I guess that is why I keep it quiet. The guys I work with are so critical at the best of times and I feel very different to them, writing aside. Never wanting to be centre of attention anyhow, I suppose I keep it under wraps to avoid the torrent of abuse I'd more than likey receive! I think I actually quite like keeping it a secret though. It allows me to 'escape' without them ever knowing!
  • No, I don't keep it secret. If they look at me like I'm a crackpot I just say, well it's better than bingo!
  • Definitely is better than bingo!

I'm getting braver with coming out as a writer, and it's easier now I'm more widely published because I'm less likely to get sneers (oh you think you're a writer do you, where's the bestseller then? etc.)