Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Creative writing groups

edited October 2005 in - Writing Tales

Comments

• I was thinking of joining a creative writing group in my area as I am pretty new to writing.

Does anyone else belong to anything like this and do they find it helpful?

Thanks, Trishie
  • Hi Trishie, I'm thinking of doing the same myself (as a new writer). I'll try to let you know how my search goes. Good luck.
  • A well run group can be very helpful.  It is good to meet with other like-minded people.
  • Trishie- as a member of a large writers group I would suggest you try them out. You do meet other people who think along the same wavelengths as you, and you can get advice and encouragement. I would say have an open mind, as not all groups are going to be good or suit you. Decide what you want to get from joing a group then ring the local contact up for that group and ask them about the group, are there published writers among them? What do they do at their meetings? If you think it will suit you then go and visit, most groups welcome visitors. Hope this helps.
  • Good advice Carol.  I've seen many groups fail through lack of structure.  Writers' groups can turn into a cosy grannies' tea party rather than somewhere to learn, receive constructive criticism and glean information about the publishing world.  There is so much a new writer has to learn especially about how to go about submitting work, researching the market and writing to editors' requirements etc etc.  It is also important to ensure every member has a 'hearing' and is given feedback.
  • Thanks for the compliment Lixxy- don't forget the biscuits.  Seriously, the most popular writing classes I've known are when writers actually write as well as read during the class.  The action of 'Instant writing' seems to produce far more published work than having to 'sit and listen.'