Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Comments on Star Letter in this month's WM

edited March 2009 in - WM and WN
Did any of you read this letter about the writing student who had her story plan/ideas 'stolen' by a writing tutor?

If it did happen in the way she explained it, then in my view the tutor has badly abused her position. The tutor's assertion that 'there is no copyright in ideas', is true in the legal sense, but surely there is an ethics/morality issue. A pity the writer didn't feel able to name the tutor so I could be sure of not going on any of her courses!

What do others think?

Comments

• I thought it was a shocking story! I worked as a tutor for eight years, started with David and Charles (the originators of WN) and Writers Bureau, then Rapid Results College, eight years of tuition and never, ever, did it cross my mind to steal a student's story! I praised where I could, advised where necessary, cajoled when I could to keep people going. Steal? Absolutely beyond the pale.
  • I think the situation is disgusting. The tutor should be identified and shamed.
  • I, too, read this story with disgust. I thought the letter very restrained if this was situation. It would be interesting to know the identity of the tutor if only to give them a right of reply. Surely this could not be their normal practise. One would hope anyone capable of running a writing course would have plenty of ideas of their own to follow up.
  • edited March 2009
    It would have been different if the tutor had asked for permission, but to steal the idea, sell the story and then brag about it was wrong. She should be ashamed of herself.
  • I agree. I would have reported the incident to the tutors superior's. As such a thing could seriously dent the reputation of the place employing them.