Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Editors aren't so scary

edited February 2011 in - Writing Tales
I sometimes hear tales about how busy and abrupt editors can be. But today I had a good conversation with the editor of Wiltshire Life, and even got talking about holidays! I've yet to place an article in her magazine, but hope to eventually.

Comments

• I've heard some of them are quite like real people.
  • I am an editor and I'm certainly not scary!
  • Ah, but you're very special, Stan.
  • So are you Posh?
  • What are you the editor of, Stan?
  • I editor a Christian magazine Grace (see www.gracemagazine.org.uk) as well being pastor of a Baptist Church.
  • I'm scary when people waste my time with totally unsuitable submissions, which shows they have done a blanket snow job of every publisher in existence without checking out what they really need ... we take 40,000 word books, the times we have been offered 150,000 word books is unbelievable and not in our genre, either. The latest was a thriller set in Hong Kong.
  • Just had a look, Stan. Very professional.
  • we would expect nothing more of Stan would we.
  • I'm not the webmaster! But we aim to be professional in producing Grace. Did you see my mug-shot?
  • Just found your mugshot, Stan. You look exactly as I expected (but even nicer!)