Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Kindle Direct Publishing

edited February 2011 in Writing
Two years ago I wrote a novel, originally called Crystal Ball, now called, Oh Great, Now I Can Hear Dead People. I secured a deal with an agent for it and it almost got signed by Orion, but they had a similar title already coming out. Because by trade I'm a non-fiction writer, The Novel has been sitting in My Documents file ever since, so I've decided to just take the plunge and publish it with Kindle Direct Publishing. Initially I was so overwhelmed with the amount of information on KD that I thought, I am never going to be able to do this, but a lady by the name of Carol, who is in her late 60's and has published many books both with mainstream publishers and more recently with KD, took me under her wing and persuaded me to give it a go, so I thought I would share the tips and tricks that she's taught me, in case any one else is thinking of publishing with KD:

* If you want to promote your book, do so on the KD forum on a Friday - according to statistics, more people are inclined to read about new books on a Friday.
* Most people who download a new ebook won't pay over £6 for it, and the ones that attract better sales are the ones that are priced between £2 and £3.
* If you can do your own cover, do so. It's very simple - just make sure you save it as a JPEG of TIFF file.
* Use Facebook and Twitter to self-promote and become 'friends' with other authors because they will support you and let their 'friends' know about you.
* Don't worry about formatting too much. If your ms is set to industry standards (double lined etc) and written as an MS Word document, Kindle will automatically format it for you.