Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

The Scariest 50 minutes of my life!

edited October 2011 in - Writing Tales
My daughter's class have been learning about writing for newspapers and magazines and when the headmistress found out that I work as a journalist, she asked if I would come in and talk to the class about what it's like working for different publications and editors - yikes! I've taught adults many times before, but 30 eight-year-olds? I couldn't sleep the night before for worrying about what might go wrong and thought I was going to have a heart attack when faced with 30 small faces staring at me!
Thankfully it all went well. We dealt mainly with 'hooks' and sub-headings and they all came up with some brilliant ideas, but boy, was it the scariest 50 minutes of my life and I have so much admiration for school teachers who have to hold their students' attention for six hours a day, five days a week!
I really enjoyed it, but I don't know whether my nerves will allow me to do it again.

Comments

• Good on yer, Midia! Always a tough proposition - kids are so acutely aware of adults (possible) short-comings & gaffs, and don't alway's know how to hold back, eh?

Ah, well - it's another good experience gained, eh? ;-)
  • Well done Midia. Especially tough too when it's your daughter's class.
  • Thank you Carol and BLZ. You're right; they smell fear! I knew I'd won the boys over though when one asked me if I'd ever interviewed an alien:)
  • Well done, midia
  • Awwwww, eight year olds are lovely :)

Well done on surviving 30 of 'em though :)
  • Sounds like it went really well: 30 x 8year olds would be well out of my comfort zone too. You did it, it went well, and it's another experience to chalk up on your writers board. well done midia