Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Liable or Defamation actions against Authors

edited January 2014 in Writing
I'm a new writer and I have just completed my first book which I intend to publish on Amazon Kindle later this year.
The book is about my very acrimonious divorce, told in satirical fashion, but I'm concerned about possible liable or defamation action from my former wife.
I was wondering if anyone has had any experience of defamation or liable actions for their work and if they could please give me their reflections?
I thought about using a pen name or stating the book as a work of fiction but I'd rather tell my story as the truth under my own name
Any comments appreciated

Comments

• I think you mean libel. Which can classed as misrepresentation - in a divorce case each side will see the same events in a different and biased light.

i think you would be most unwise to publish a 'true' from your point of view account, it just cannot be without prejudice.
  • I agree with Liz - I think you'd be asking for trouble - but you could consult a legal expert to ascertain the risk.
  • Not a wise thing to do at all.

Get all the angst out of your system and then put it away and forget about it, DON'T PUBLISH IT.
  • If you are determined to publish, then you should change all names, including yours, and any identifying characteristics.
  • Even if you didn't up involved in a legal case, you might cause a great deal of upset and unhappiness to the people who know you, or your ex wife. If you have children, or your in laws are still alive, will they enjoy reading the book? How do you think your friends and other family members might feel about it?
  • Wouldn't touch that one with a barge pole.