Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Hybrid fiction & non fiction novel

edited February 2014 in Writing
Hi this is my first time here and my first post.

I am currently writing a novel about my experiences in Iraq as a private security contractor. I'm not doing it for money or for fame just a tick off my bucket list.

I won't lie to anyone, I'm not actually writing it but talking into a dictaphone and having a company transcribe it into word document.

Here is my question and I hope anybody out there can help.

I have got quite far into my story all based/drawn on from actual real events but I would like the story to go off in a direction that tells a story if I'd have done what was ask then this is what would have happened scenario. I hope that makes sense, I was wondering if this is perfectly acceptable?

Comments

• Do you mean you are going to fictionalise a true account?

There are several things to think about. Is your true account completely unbiased and without libellous comment? Could anyone sue you for defamation of their character? Even a characterisation you think is fair and even kind could be viewed quite differently by the person it depicts.

Then there is the fictionalisation of characters' (who are real) actions . What would they think about this?

• Oh! And welcome to the site!
  • Hi, I don't think I explained myself properly so I apologise it was late. I'm stuck on wether to do a total fiction book drawn on from my experiences in Iraq which would mean there would be no problem as such putting in this mission that never took place because the whole book would be fiction or do a hybrid of fact and fiction , I'm finding it quite hard to explain sorry !