Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Amazon Bullies & Trolls

edited March 2014 in Writing
Anne Rice's support of a petition against bullies and trolls. Has been in the news.

http://www.theguardian.com/books/2014/mar/04/anne-rice-protests-bullying-amazon-petition

Any opinions?

Comments

• I can't see why anyone needs to hide under a pseudonym, and always comment everywhere as myself. If this became law, then a lot of anguish could be stopped... not just for authors, in particular anonymous bullying of children, by other children.
  • Obviously as an author I can make several cases for author anonymity and pseudonyms but reviewers, I can't really make a case for.
  • As much as I understand the idea behind this I can’t ever see it happening.

"Hello, Amazon? You know you have millions of people participating in discussions and advertising your site by word of mouth, controversial news stories, book reviews, link sharing? Could you pretty much annihilate that number by forcing people to give all of their personal details? It's ok, you can tell people you won't reveal or sell the details if you think they'll buy it. Kthanksbye...”
  • Obviously as an author I can make several cases for author anonymity and pseudonyms but reviewers, I can't really make a case for.
    I agree.

I was following an indie trilogy on Amazon - the reviews of the first one intrigued me. One gave it 5 stars and another, only 1.

Book one - 5 stars from 'Jane' - who 'looked forward' to the next book in the series.

Book two - 4 stars from 'Jane' - sadly she was logged on as AN Other - the author's adult son. Incredibly they haven't removed it.

Book three - no reviews.

How do I know? The author had an unusual name. Quick look on Google revealed the son and his wife's names.

That might not be 'bullying', but it's dishonest.