Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Does Your Way of Promoting work?

Anyone fancy swapping thoughts about success or failure in our marketing and promotion methods? I've been there, seen it, done it across the spectrum; blogging, guest posting, forum participation, free adds, press releases, giveaways, Facebook, Twitter . . . Results? Awful. Maybe I have to accept my stuff just doesn't appeal!

Comments

• I can't offer any thoughts as I'm primarily a travel writer who dabbles in fiction, but bumping this up in case any of our novelists missed it. :)
  • Okay. Thanks, Claudia.
  • It can be hard to know what works. If sales go up after a blog post is that a result of the post - or because something you did a few days previously is now producing results?

Would your sales have been lower still without your promotion efforts?

Maybe you're being too hard on yourself and what you think of as awful sales figures are actually pretty good for self published work. (I'm assuming you've self published as you're the one doing the press releases and giveaways)

My free short story collection has helped http://www.amazon.co.uk/Not-Drop-Drink-Patsy-Collins-ebook/dp/B009RX5MGS/ref=la_B004O08LRQ_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1400398802&sr=1-1
    That contains sample chapters of my novels. I know somepeople have bought a book after reading it. Even getting people to download a freebie requires promotion though as there are lots of free ebooks available. (The publisher of a lot of my short stories produced the collection as a promotional tool, but there's nothing to stop you doing one yourself)