Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

How to improve, what to improve...

edited August 2015 in Writing
I'm not sure if my story is a typical one but here goes! Basically I'm a 33yr old guy who loves to read and wishes that I could be a better writer. I don't have particular aspirations to being a novellist or anything like that, but I enjoy contributing to online discussions and regularly write TripAdvisor reviews. I do also have a blog but don't really keep it up to date, primarily because I'm not sure it's interesting enough to read!

So my problem is that I would say I'm pretty good at picking up on good writing when I read it, but find it hard to write in a way that flows or can convey any particular emotion or humour. I work in IT and have in the past written quite a bit of technical documentation and received fair praise for it, so my writing tends to be very formal but not especially great to read (as you're probably already thinking...)

I wonder if part of the problem stems from the fact that I really didn't like English lessons at school and freely admit that my knowledge of the technicalities of writing is quite basic. Often times I find myself writing very long sentences and then going back over them, adding punctuation here and there but never really being sure it's in the right places. My vocabulary is reasonable though and my spelling generally excellent (for what it's worth in these days of ubiquitous spell-checkers...) Aspects of my grammar usage are strong (think "their, they're, there" etc.) but others very weak (think things like subject-verb agreement).