Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Finishing stories

edited August 2015 in - Writing Problems
I'm new to this forum, and I appreciate all the advice that has been given to me so far.

I wonder whether anyone has the same problem as me with finishing stories. I rarely find time to write and when I do, it is usually when I'm off work, as my job is so demanding that I rarely have time for myself. When I do find the time, I usually procrastinate (like I am doing now or like I was earlier today when I was watching Poldark or Mr Selfridge on DVD), or I have usually lost my train of thought and the thread I am going with. My current story I have been working on since about 2006 and it has already had several revisions, but I'm no where near finished it. One revision was because the main characters were really annoying me, so I changed the whole story. Now I have gone back to it various times, and I have added to it and changed it since then; however, the style I had originally written in seems to have gone. Instead of it being quite quirky, it now seems to be quite serious. It doesn't seem to flow, but the quirkiness I was originally writing with has gone.

For a while I abandoned the story and started working on a Supernatural one, but I really wanted to finish one novel, so went back to the original one. I am really finding it difficult to finish.

Could it be that I have been working on it that long that I have lost sight of the original story? Do I need to be writing more often? Does anybody else have this issue? Do I need to plan more? Do I need to abandon it completely?

How do other people deal with demanding jobs and a lack of time?

Many thanks.
Tagged:

Comments