Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

New Writer Inquiries

edited April 2016 in Writing
Hey everyone, I'm an aspiring writer and I'm new to this forum. I've been recommended to sites such as this for the sake of my sanity, and would dearly like some help with understanding the current market. My (current) genres are science fiction and fantasy.

First, I'd definitely like to know how the market is on accepting new SF and Fantasy. I know there's blurb somewhere about them being among the most profitable genres, but I'd like some down-to-earth advice about how acceptable it is and what agencies are most receptive.

Second, I'd like some help on how the self-publishing market's going. The last time I tried it, my work was not as polished and the market seemed flooded. How's it going now, and how can I do my best to make sure I get noticed?

Many thanks to anyone who can help. If there is some way I can securely share some of my writing for others to see here, I'd be more than willing to do so.

Comments

• edited April 2016
    Hi and welcome.

Sorry, don't know anything about Sci-fi or fantasy.
  • Hello Lara.

It's not my genre so don't know the specifics, but there will likely be someone along who does know something.

Self-publishing involves a lot of work.

Self-publishing involves a lot of work.
    Yes. Almost as much as the agent + publisher route.
  • Hello Lara, and welcome.

If you make a killing with sci-fi and fantasy, let me know.

Nobody reads my crap

• Nobody reads my crap
    Odd, because your marketing pitch is so appealing ...
  • I know my place...

~:>
  • Hello and welcome!

You'd really need to research which agents deal with your genre and take it from there. If your work's ready for publication and you can't find anyone to publish it traditionally, consider self-publishing.