Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Motivation and descriptive writing?

edited August 2016 in - Writing Problems
I'm fairly new to writing and at times I can sit for hours and be able to write descriptively, but once that sudden jolt of motivation is gone I seem unable to write anything descriptive, sometimes when I'm really unmotivated it just becomes a list of dialog.

So anyway, dose anyone else experience this and if so how do you get around it?

Comments

• Carry on. I think most would agree that you'll never reach a time when you ALWAYS want to write – there will always be time when you don’t want to, when you can’t, when the words seem horrible and pointless and AGGHH I’m not a real writer, I quit!

But writing in every mood (angry, sad, happy, drunk [drunk is a mood, right?], motivated, unmotivated, lethargic, ecstatic) can be useful. You’ll be able to glean decent stuff from all of your sessions “moody” or otherwise.

Write blocky lists of dialogue, write happy bouncy action laden scenes, write drunken puns into every second line…who cares, it’s only a first draft anyway. The important thing is to keep going. You can always completely cut the bits you’ve created when you’re “down in the dumps” if you fell there’s nothing useful there. Whether you feel it or believe it, writing when unmotivated still helps.

There have been times when I feel vile, I don’t want to be anywhere near my novel, but I’ve scribbled down an idea so I don’t forget it, or a snippet of crappy dialogue that I’ll promise to tidy up later, and then another line, another idea, before you know I’ve bashed out a few thousand words or I’ve passed three hours plotting out some finer points of the ending of my latest WIP.