Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Starting Out

edited February 2017 in - Writing Problems
Hello everyone,

So I've decided to try my hand at writing my first novel (yay!)

I've always enjoyed writing, and the art of storytelling, although never the most avid reader. My path has always veered to more visual mediums and as a visual artist by trade I guess that makes sense.

But now, having tried my hand in film, I've decided to free myself and run with my imagination. Budget and achievability wont stop me now!

I have an idea and have been working hard to flesh it out. I have found building up the backstory has really helped to drive the main narrative forward in my head.

I'm at the point where I feel like I know my main characters at what drives them. And where they stand in the world when we first meet them.

However, I haven't been able to bring myself to a conclusion.

Is it best to work this out before I begin to write properly so I have a goal to drive towards. Or in this case is it better to let the story develop organically and lead the way as I discover it.

Any advice will be really appreciated.

I should probably add it's a fantasy novel. I have pitched it to friends as a collision of Game of Thrones, Stargate, and the graphic novel Outcast.

I'm excited to become part of this community.

M

Comments

• Hi M, welcome to TB.

If you have no idea where the story is going, it may be hard to have your characters react correctly in particular situations.

Perhaps you have a general idea of the ending, but nothing specific, in which case it will probably come to you along the way - after all, characters do have a habit of telling us where they want to go and what they want to say.