Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Just started.

edited August 2017 in Writing
Hello there. I'm new to writing and as I type this post, I feel like the lightest Helium balloon with a big bright target painted on me. I've launched myself into the bright blue. I feel an exuberance within me, a sense of expectation. Oh no! Here comes the bullets.
I didn't do well at english in school. I'm in my fifties. I started to write a short story last year and finished it with 20.000 words. I loved writing the story and had it put together in book form by a friend. I gave the book to some people and asked for feedback (Friends never tell the truth). One person told me I have a steep learning curve if I wanted to write, I took that as a compliment as they could have said "Very steep" I have started another story, I'm feeling the buzz already. I have rambled on a bit, but I hoped a keen eye would read between the lines.
Is there any hope for me, or should I just write for pleasure.

Comments

• Welcome! There's always hope and you should always write for pleasure.
  • Pleasure first.
    Anything else is a bonus.
  • Hi Rob, and welcome to a place where you can talk 'writing' in all its aspects with people who understand.
    I agree with BB and Heather - write for pleasure first. The important thing is to embrace and enjoy the learning curve, and success may come your way in due course! :)
  • Hello Rob_d. :)
  • Hi Rob_d. Welcome to Talkback.
  • Hi Rob_d, and welcome. Write for pleasure. Learn to cut your own work down to size.
    You were very brave to let anyone read a first attempt!
    Keep going.
  • Just started?

He said 'started' snailmail not 'far ...

Oh never mind

Welcome

*sprays air freshner and leaves*