Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Hello! I'm new to writing and to the Forum.

edited May 2017 in Writing
I've used the name Codger because I am in fact a codger in my 86th year. I'm a writer with a small 'W'. The stuff that I write is intend to make folk suffering from ill health to smile and maybe even laugh now and then. This they frequently do. Whether this purely out of politeness is what I'm here to find out. I would appreciate your help.
Example:
I do my shopping all online
It’s easier to do.
Except for just one little thing
I’m going to tell to you.
The problem that I have I fear
Is a misbehaving mouse.
It orders stuff I shouldn’t have
For delivery to the house.
I do my best to grab it back
Come back here I wail
But now it’s gone all wireless
And it doesn’t have a tail.
It wanders up and down the aisles
Clicking there and here
I try to keep it well away
From where they keep the beer.
It knows I’m diabetic
But it doesn’t give a fig
Clicking on the chocolate
Has me looking like a pig.
And so I’ve had to cage it
When I go to shop online.
The keyboard now it has to be
Though it takes a bit more time.

Comments

• Hi Codger. Welcome to Talkback. Your example made me smile. Technology can be frustrating at times.
  • Hello Codger, glad you've joined us. :)
  • Welcome, Codger. :-*
  • Hey there, Codger, and welcome! And I love your poem. Just the thing to cheer people up.
  • Hello Codger. Excellent reason for writing.
  • Hello codger! Good to have another pensioner on board!
  • Hey there, Codger, and welcome! And I love your poem. Just the thing to cheer people up.
    Thank you Liz and all the other lovely people who welcomed me here. That's my only aim really, to cheer people up. Especially if they are poorly.
  • Hello, Codger, and thank you for cheering us up too!