Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

I'm a startup freelance editor - any tips?

Hi all! 

I just joined here, so apologies if this isn't the right place to post this (please refer me to the correct place if so!).

I've been a freelance scientific editor for just under two years and have just started my own freelance website in the hopes of expanding into other types of writing (I really love SFF!). 

I was wondering if anyone had any tips on how to get more exposure/how to build a clientelle - I know many of you are writers and may not have experience in editing, but was hoping people could point me in the right direction or to someone whose brain I could pick. One idea I had was to offer sample edits of 1,000-1,500 words to allow potential clients to see how I work and decide if it's for them - anyone have experience of this?

I've started writing a lot more recently too, and while I really enjoy it, i've been struggling to get motivated - my writing moods often come late at night when I really should be sleeping - anyone got any tips or comments on how to stay motivated as a writer?

Thanks for reading, hope you are all having a lovely day!

Comments

• Welcome to TB.

Have a look at other editors. How they promote their businesses and how you actually find them, would be a good starting point. Do you check your website stats? How are people finding your website?

• Hi, and welcome to TB, SJPE!

I often see pleas for feedback from writers in FB writing groups, or on Goodreads. There is often a suggestion of reciprocal critique. You could jump in on a few of those with an introduction about your services, maybe offering the first chapter/1000 words free.
  • edited August 2019
    Welcome!
  • Thanks all for your comments!