Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Speaking in public - aaaargh!

edited June 2009 in - Writing Problems
Wasn't sure whether to post this under Writing Problems or Writing Successes.

I absolutely hate standing up in front of people and talking, even about subjects I know back to front. I just don't have the confidence, and I blush, ramble and contradict myself. This is why I write instead; it flows, I can be me.

The thought of speaking on the radio, or even worse, on TV is terrifying.

I know I'm not even 'out there', but as a budding writer I'm thinking of the (potential) future!

Anyone got any advice, tips or hypnosis suggestions??!

(Will be back this evening - lunchbreak's over)

Comments

• Difficult one as I usually don't find it difficult. Get nervous yes.
    When I did a radio slot- five minutes in 2007, I just blotted out the fact there were a lot of people listening and held the conversation with the guy doing the show.
  • I know what you mean, Lily, I'm much happier with the written word, too! However, I have in the past had to do the public presenting thing. I found the best thing was to be absolutely, 100% sure of your topic, and give yourself three subjects to talk about - no more, or you'll forget where you are. The most critical thing is that people respond extremely well to enthusiasm - you could talk drivel enthusiastically, and they'd love you for your passion and commitment. I still got nervous, but got to know that you usually end up getting a bit of a boost out of it.
  • Do it, that's the only way, it gets easier.