Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Microsoft Word is driving me crazy

I've been writing a story today using Word 2003 and have two questions - hopefully someone may know the answer!

1) When I do a spell check, it comes up with this message 'Text marked "Do not check spelling or grammar" was skipped'

What's that all about? I haven't marked any text.

2) If I use 'word count' under 'tools', the figure given is different to the one at the end of using spell check. I'm considering counting it manually, because which one is right?

Agghhhh. . .

Comments

• I'm not an expert in 2003 word since I use my 2007 at home more, but I'll have a play around in IT second and see.
  • [quote=littlewanda]'Text marked "Do not check spelling or grammar" was skipped'[/quote]
    It's one of those "helpful" tasks that supposedly assist one's presentation. I have received this message when I have copied in material as an "object" from other documents or created headers and footers.

[quote=littlewanda]'word count' under 'tools', the figure given is different to the one at the end of using spell check[/quote]
    If the "helpful" assistance has decided there is text to leave unaltered it will not include this in the word count. Trust the figure that is displayed when you opt for the document to be word counted. There have been past threads advising inconsistency of the word count being accurate but I can't think of their titles just now.
    Jay might be of assistance if he spots your dilemma.
  • Word 2003 counts titles in that word count. If you want to know the amount without including the titles -highlight the remainder of the text and in tools click on word count- that should give you what you want.