Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

(Article) Five Ways to Build the Writing Habit

edited August 2009 in - Writing Problems
http://writetodone.com/2009/08/25/five-ways-to-build-the-writing-habit/

Comments

• Thanks for this Emma. I do all these but I am reluctant to say I am a writer when people ask what I do, as I am not published yet.
  • You've been published in magazines and won prizes!
  • I'm unpublished and have won no prizes or ANYTHING but I privately call myself a writer. It means I have to keep writing to justify the label :-)
  • Kateyanne, it's down to positive thinking. Tell people you are a writer and have more confidence in yourself, for what you give out you get back. By saying 'I am a writer' you will be one, in your own mind, that is. We consider you a published writer, so why don't you? Don't put yourself down.
  • [quote=kateyanne]I am reluctant to say I am a writer when people ask what I do, as I am not published yet. [/quote]
    [quote=Jay Mandal]You've been published in magazines and won prizes! [/quote]
    [quote=dorothyd]We consider you a published writer, so why don't you? [/quote]

I was astonished when I read your post, Kateyanne. In my eyes you are most certainly a published writer!

p.s. thanks for the link, Emma - I'll go take a look
  • Well this is down to what I have heard from people when I have said that I'm a writer, in particular my family who seem to want some proof of monetary gain from my writing and I have never had any although yes I have won prizes. They seem to see my writing as a hobby, I know this has been discussed before on here.