Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Anyone writing historical fiction?

edited June 2011 in - Writing Problems
How much research do you do? In particular how do you achieve authenticity in the speech patterns of your characters? I'd be very interested to talk in some detail with anyone else writing about the 1850s in particular.

Comments

• Gosh, Mutley, I'd say that is going to involve quite a bit of research for you; not only the speech of all your characters, but also the narrator's voice so that it suits the historical subject matter. Then there's the social history for costume, buildings and transport, attitudes between people (whether women, for example, would talk about a certain subject: that kind of thing). It's an absolute minefield.

If I were going to try it, from a standing start (even though I'm a student of history and have taught history for years at secondary level), I'd read as many modern books set in that period as I could find, to get the 'feel' for it.

Good luck.
  • I think Carol does historical stuff, but a bit earlier than 1850. There's interesting things on her blog:

http://carol-bevitt.blogspot.com/
  • I think you have to use your inner ear for this. You can do research for the 1850s: read the dialogue in Dickens, or any other writer of the period, for instance, or any biographies of local worthies from the place where you are setting your story. You could check out the archives of local newspapers (try the offices themselves, or your library if you still have one). If you have a local museum, you might be allowed access to useful documents from the period. It's easy to research costumes and home interiors, which would give you the feel for the times. National Trust properties of the right time can be useful - and check out their booksales for background research.