Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Mentor / Collaborator Wanted

edited October 2007 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• Most of my writing is done at weekends (I have an early start and late homecoming during the week). I have just started writing my first novel, but as an inexperienced writer, I have a number of concerns with regard to presentation and layout. I therefore need to get the 'technical' (for want of a better word) side of it right. I was wondering if anyone might be interested in collaborating with, or mentoring me on a fantasy novel for teenagers? I am studying a writing course, but it does not cover novels. I find it helps if I am shown examples or specimen texts and can talk one to one. I can be contacted through my website, shown on my profile. 
  • Hi Mike,
    I don't think I can help as I lack a bit of knowledge in that area myself.
    I like your web site by the way. I also write poetry. Do you own all those boats!
    ( I love Worthing, lived in Horsham and popped down there a lot, hope to go back to that area soon)
  • I'm afraid Mike most of us are too busy ourselves to take on such a task.
    I suggest you have a look at some of the books that have been recommended on other threads, or have a look at the Bookshelf listing on the left-hand column of this page.
    Obviously reading novels in your chosen genre is valuable.
    Layout is the usual indent paragraphs, double spacing, 12 point, Times New Roman.
  • I would say get your novel down whilst the Muse is with you and then consider editing and improving layout later.  Good luck with your task.
  • You could post a short extract from your novel for Talkbackers to comment on.
  • I agree with Betsie don't worry about all that til later get your ideas down first. That's what I do. ( then I get someone else to sort that out lol)
  • Hi Mike