Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

My First Rejection!!

edited November 2007 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• I received my first rejection today from the Scribbler magazine. I take on board the constructive criticism and advice. It was more tell than show with too much 'author intrusion'. Ok I'm a novice at this game and keen to learn the 'craft'. However, I passed the story around and nearly everyone said they really enjoyed it. My point is: why does it matter how a story is written as long as it is enjoyed by its readers. Not sure how my story to the Writers magazine will go down, like a lead balloon probably.   Still, my 1st rejection, it's a start.
  • It does matter how a story is written if you want to win a competition or sell it. Better luck with your next submission. Don't give up.
  • Congrats!  Join the big merry gang.  Constructive criticism is always helpful, I find.  If I am consistently being told something about my writing by several people, then more than likely, they are right and it's something I need to revisit and improve upon.  However, people who offer constructive criticism will have a subjective view as well: what I mean is, it would be difficult to change your story for every constructive criticism that you receive! At the end of the day, it's your story.  It's also helpful to put it aside for a while (a few weeks perhaps) and then look at it again with a fresh eye and with respect to the constructive criticism.
  • Good advice from MDD. Other people see the things the writer doesn't.
    Congratulations on your first rejection Marc B.
  • Hey Marc.  Was that Scribler mag or Scirbble?  If it was Scribble I congratulate you on your rejection.  Strange mags with strange stories!  Keep going al.