Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

writers block

Comments

• Help! I am a new writer who has signed up for a writing course. After several assingments my latest one has stumped me. Fresh out of ideas when given the choice of writing a winter's story for a woman's magazine. I want to write blood and gore, not passion and romance!
    Any ideas to push me in the right direction.
  • try keeping a scrap book. I take cuttings from all of the papers, and have sections for crime, humour, scandal etc.

Have you thought of songs? anything inspire you there? How about objects? Isn't winter a time for giving.... It doesn't have to be a nice present.

My next book is about winter, and it looks set to be a real cracker, but say no more.

Milhouse.
  • welcome to the website Chicken - Womens'mags. don't just have romance. You could try humour,mystery, crime or, as its a winter tale, how about a ghost story? The only thing is you're right about no blood and gore, and usually they like a happy ending. Good luck with your course. I've just started one too and I know it isn't easy writing to a given theme.
  • Morning Chicken,

Sounds like time to call on your memory banks. Think of some event in a past winter that could be related/adapted to the required exercise.

Glad to welcome another participant to this happy throng.
  • Hi Chicken, I agree with what's been said. Stories for Women's magazines must have an uplifting ending, even if it isn't conventional. Try a list of words you associate with winter, or images. Then jot down a few thoughts on each one. Something will come to you. Try a song title even. Good luck.
  • Or a Carol title eg. In the bleak mid winter.
  • Hi Chicken - women's mags don't just mean romance.  Do some research - have a look at whole range of women's mags. 
  • Hello Chicken