Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

pictures or illustrations

edited June 2008 in - Writing Problems
Hi I am just going to start writing soon and I have a query reguarding the use of pictures or illustrations that I was thinking of adding to my work to emblish it, also pref. some realistic sounds that will come from microsoft clipart online.

I just would like to know what do other novice writers feel about using pictures and other such mediums to embelish thier work.

Phil.

Comments

• don't.
    As an editor I detest fancy things that come attached to a manuscript. Send it plain, simple, clearly set out as per the instructions of the magazine/publisher you are aiming for. If there are illustrations, say for a children's story or something, say you have them only if they want them. Mostly people use their own illustrators. If it is an article and there are relevant photographs, send copies. Otherwise, don't add sound, or anything. Your work must stand on its own.
  • Agree with Dorothy. As those TB's who are also illustrators will tell you, publishers usually have their own band of illustrators.