Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Changing the point of view

edited November 2008 in - Writing Problems
As I mentioned before, I'm a novice writing my (first) novel. This is meant to be from my main character's viewpoint, so in the third person with limited point of view ('third first person'). But I got stuck. I'm just about to write a scene where my character is crying her heart out silently in the bathroom and I can't picture it any other way than written from 'the omniscent third'.
From what I understand one should generally stick to one viewpoint throughout the novel but sometimes it is possible to change the viewpoint. O.S. Card writes that one may change the limited for omniscent but not 'half way through' something. This scene is in the middle of a chapter but the heroine leaves the bedroom (in limited third) and goes to the bathroom, so I could argue that this is going to be a separate scene.
What do you think I should do? Try to write the scene in the 'limited third'? Or can I go for the 'omniscent third'? Any other options (re-writing the whole story from a different p.o.w. is out of question at the moment) welcomed.
I would be grateful for your advice.

Comments

• it's ok to change from what I call third close up {inside the head of character] to omniscient for a scene. I think it is ok, anyway, and do this myself.
    Trouble is it becomes a management problem. There is an advantage to switch to omniscient in that you can still refer to it later and reveal something convenient that she felt at that time [in the bathroom]. If that makes sense? It does to me.
  • It's help if you gave us a bit of the scene to work on.

**Sally was aware that her crying may be heard outside on the landing, and tried to stifle it. Footsteps. Was that Jon? Had he heard her weeping?**