Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

(Question) Historical Fiction

edited February 2009 in - Reading
I was sitting in a Scottish History lecture this morning when a thought entered my head. Why do historical authors, when writing about Kings and Queens also stick with the obvious 'fashionable' ones; only to reinforce assumptions?

Dorothy excluded!!!!

I can real off lists of novels about Henry VIII; Elizabeth I or Mary Queen of Scots. So why is it impossible to find novels about monarchs like James V or James VII? I find their stories just as fascinating: James V was kidnapped by nobles and his mistress is alleged to have been murdered to make way for marriage to an English Princess; or there is James VI who cuts a tragic figure; also kidnapped by nobles; threatened with a sword to his throat as he held Court.

As a writer I think - you couldn't make this stuff up - so why are they overlooked?

Comments

• Because many people have not heard of them, so why would a publisher risk a book that might not sell without a lot of publicity.
    Nowdays kids don't do the, start at the Romans and work through. They do Henry VIII because he had six wives and everyone has heard about him.
    Unless the others have done something drastic that effects society, politics or religion that resounds to the present day, they'll be ignored.
    Very wrong.
  • Don't you fancy writing a bit of historical stuff yourself, Stirling? You've already spotted the gap in the market, you've got the interest. James V's tale sounds fascinating.