Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Creating suspence

edited May 2011 in - Writing Problems
Hi I'm new to this first time on here and just wondered how all of you deal with creating a mood in your writing that develops suspense so that the reader is drawn in and then gets hit with a scare. Its pretty easy in films and in my head I see it the way it should be but i'm struggling when it comes to describing it in words.

Thanks

Guffy

Comments

• Hi Guffyowl welcome . You will get lots of good advise on here , there are lots of clever people who will be able to answer your question.
  • pbwpbw
    edited May 2011
    Hi Guffyowl and welcome. I'm no expert. I don't teach it and I'm not published but if you're gonna do it you have to dive in, I reckon. You need to research 'pacing' (how quickly/slowly your plot moves along and when to speed it up/slow it down). You need to research 'exposition' (what you reveal, whether you reveal it incrementally, whether you can foreshadow what you are going to reveal, and finally, decide when to reveal the punchline and how it is revealed).

As for creating mood (don't know if this is right, it's just how I do it), depending on which point of view (POV) I'm using, I set the scene (but please never start with 'It was a dark and stormy night'. It's a cliche and cliches are no-nos), I interweave action and reaction, scene setting and other information if needed to clarify things. I use symbols, metaphors, echoes and repetition. You can also set mood through dialogue and gestures.

Okay, that's the theory and it is, of course, easier said than done.

There are loads of 'how to' books out there and loads of online resources, especially blogs, in which writers and tutors write about how to do it. Good luck. And of course you can always ask specific questions on here.