Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Author talks - what makes a good one?

edited February 2015 in Writing
My publisher has asked me to come up with ideas for a talk. She is pitching for a slot at Lowdham Book Festival. Has anyone been to a good children's author talk or know of any I can watch online? I've never done anything like this before and am well out of my comfort zone. I'm pretty sure I can't stand there and talk entertainingly off the top of my head, so any ideas that are structured and interactive would be great. I'm aiming for the middle grade market, with adult crossover.

Comments

• Adult crossover? Hmmm. I think a good children's talk will engage any adults there.

I've been to loads as loads of my friends are children's authors... *racks brains*

Ummmm... Read an exciting bit out of the book.

I have an idea, put your request on Facebook, explaining what your book is (genre, age-group) and I'll tag my friends who write for that age group and have done loads of talks at litfests (Bath kidslitfest.)
  • Lowdham Book Festival is my nearest event, ana s.

A lot will depend on when the slot is.
  • http://www.lowdhambookfestival.co.uk/lowdham2014-web.pdf

If this link doesn't work go to the main page and you'll see a small box and you can still download the PDF of last year's programme.

(I still have the printed booklet version, and will be happy to send it to you if you prefer.) The info is the same as the PDF version anyway- it will give you some idea of what sort of times events go on, and it's a good example of the general style of events.

The final Saturday, when I'm there for the writers club stall, is a free day, very family friendly, they have tents specifically for the children's stuff.