Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Can you learn to write?

edited March 2016 in Writing
My friend's wife is thinking of going back to Uni to study creative writing as this what she'd like to do full time (she's currently a drama teacher).

She's had a little minor publishing success magazines etc but she wants to write novels and thinks she needs formal training. I'm not sure if writers are born or made what does everyone else think? ?

Comments

• I think all/most successful artists have to have a dollop of natural talent, which they then have to learn how to develop.
    How they go about learning their craft varies. Some study their craft formally, others are self-taught, so I would say that formal training isn't mandatory.
  • I agree that natural talent is a must - goodness knows I've read enough competent but jaw-achingly stodgy self-published things.

The thing is that honing a craft takes an awfully long time - and a course is a fabulous way to speed up that process. Not only are you writing constantly, with expert advice on hand, everything you write is also scrutinised to within an inch of its conjuring as to whether it makes sense, is well-expressed, is interesting, jumps from the page into your mind, fills you with the intended emotion, whether the writing is liquid and flows so that it doesn't hold up your reading, whether the whole of what you are writing has suspense and highs and lows in the right places, etc. etc.

And you get contacts and a host of comrades who remain friends for life and you learn a lot about yourself.

You can do it on your own - but it's so much better having all the above.

However, I would put in the proviso that the course has to be a good one.