Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Children's Authors tell about their first break

edited September 2007 in - Reading

Comments

• Short piece from the online Times running along with a reminder of the Chicken House competition.

From The TimesAugust 18, 2007

My first break
    Bestselling children's authors tell how they got published
    Michael Morpurgo

I was a teacher at a primary school in Kent, reading a tedious story to my pupils, who were clearly bored. That night I complained to my wife, who said: “You’re quite good at telling stories – why don’t you make one up?” So I screwed my courage to the sticking place. At the end of the session they all shouted: “Oh, sir!” They wanted more. In one afternoon I understood what it is to be a storyteller. A colleague persuaded me to write it up and gave it to a friend at Macmillan. Luckily he liked it, and it quickly led to my first book, It Never Rained, a collection of stories about things that go wrong in children’s lives.

Geraldine McCaughrean

At nine, I wrote stories about horses, always horses. After my clever brother got a book published at 14, I tried too. But as a teenager I wrote adult books about Love and Russia, wanting to be Turgenev. So the manuscripts I submitted were all rejected. Meanwhile, I became friends with a children’s publisher. One day he suggested writing a novel – “Not historical; nobody’s reading historical right now” – I returned months later, breathless, with my finished novel . . . set in the Middle Ages. And the dear man published it anyway – even though my book was unfashionable and I was unknown.

Michael Rosen