Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Feedback please?

edited August 2007 in - Reading

Comments

• Hi, there. I am a young writer, and writing is certainly a pssion for me. I have almost completed a novel, and considering approaching agents/publishers. If you could offer any helpful criticism/feedback on a chapter from my novel, I would be most grateful, as I am VERY new to the novel writing and publishing game. Thank you.

Chapter 7
    A path of murder

The man behind the cloak called to his comrades: “Hurry up you mangy, flea-bitten witch-sons, we’ve got a job to do!” The score of assassins gave a mixture of grunts of tired resentment and the occasional insubordinate mutter as they urged their horses onwards faster. “Address your chief correctly, you repugnant puddles of orc sick!”
    “Yes, Holtz.” They muttered darkly. The one eyed assassin smiled to himself as he slashed the neck of his own horse with his whip, the poor animal exerting itself to a greater speed. Within seconds, the smile was wiped from the face of Holtz. Two cloaked figures stood in the middle of the road, swords outstretched, calling out words inaudible over the sounds of hoof beats. Highwaymen. Didn’t they know of Holtz, one of the most powerful wizards in Ralgray, whose might was to be feared above the powers of all others?
    “Give us ‘yer gold!” One of the highwaymen crooned with a sick sense of satisfaction. “C’mon ugly, wa’choo’ waitin’ for?” The highwayman laughed heartily. Holtz held his reins tightly, and then let his hood fall to his shoulders. The highwayman gasped at the face, with its one furious eye, its scars and its pale shade of white skin. “Bloody hell, it really is ugly!” He chuckled.