Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Are our fingers saying something?

edited May 2007 in - Writing Tales

Comments

• Just started looking at the BBC webpages and noticed this item that has come out of a  study at the University of Bath. The length of our ring finger could suggest someone is better at literacy than maths- hormones again!

http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/education/6680737.stm
  • hahaha! my ring finger is shorter than my index finger! so i was meant to be a writer from conception!!
  • Scientific research? sounds very like a horoscope with an extra portion of mumbo jumbo. Do they do bumps on the head s well I wonder
  • I saw some rowdy school kids hanging out of the window of a bus yesterday. I think they were trying to say something with their fingers.
  • Well my ring finger is only a cm shorter than my index finger- on both hands- and I'm not very good at maths- unless it's simple basic everyday type stuff!
    So that theory doesn't work then.
  • Load of rubbish.

So I'm good at maths, I always thought I was rubbish!.

Someone wants to tell admissions at Stirling University, because I thought that I had spent four years with the OU studying literature, and achieved publication a few times.

Still need the calculator when cashing up at work though.
  • Sorry, I may not ever make it as a writer but I'm closer to walking on the moon than being a mathematician. Codswallop, I say! :-D
  • Interesting but, yes, possible bunkum.

Mine are contrary: ring finger is shorter on the right hand and longer on the left.  So maybe that's why I'm somewhere in the middle.  Can still do arithmetic in my head but nothing too complex.  That must surely be rote learning, not my fingers!

And have been published.  Also started life as a left-hander and was "corrected" (ha) into right-handedness.