Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Mental Exhaustion

edited May 2007 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• Okay, I have one scene left to write and I will have finished draft two (thanks to those who give me advice over the block, fifteen thousand words ago).

The problem is I feel severely exhausted, mentally.  I would be happy never to look at the damn thing again.  I will try and leave it until the end of May, before I start work again.  I need to give it a bit of a polish before I start to send it out, but I need to chill out first. 

I have character studies for my next novel to work on, but I need to get the drive back to face another 80,000 words.

What do everyone else do to relax?.  It really does feel like I've been running the same marathon for seven years!.
  • Yes, I'm pretty sick of first draft and going into second.  I don't think I can offer much help, much as I'd love to.  Sorry... I know what you mean about the seven years, though.
  • When I finished my novel, I just stepped down a few gears. Didn't stop writing. But just found other outlets. Writing comps, magazine features, short stories. Nothing too daunting.  No pressure. Doing these for a few months kept the creativity going and prompted ideas for the next book. Not so between drafts. The I was eager to get back in there and rework and rework to achieve the polished final draft.
  • Have yet to get that far, myself, but want to say a big well done for getting that far.  It takes guts and determination.  All power to your elbow, all of you!
  • Be careful not to lose the ability to relax. I'm on that slippery slope at the moment and don't know how to take my own advice.