Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

After dinner talk - any tips?

edited March 2007 in - Writing Tales

Comments

• Hi folks. I've got to give an after dinner talk at a charity event in two weeks time. Apparently c 80 people are attending. Never done one before. I've got a book from the library on after dinner speaking - a sort of idiot's guide. It says to keep one's head up, chin jutting out, mouth wide open, eyes staring above the audience, shoulders squared, arms spread out.  That's before you utter a word. Mmm. I'd feel like something engineered by Mary Shelly if I did all of that. I'll have to have a script to hand in case I dry up but will attempt to just use prompt cards to make sure I keep some continuity and stop the talk from sounding too stilted. Anyway, I'd appreciate any advice from those Talkbackers who are into public speaking.
  • I've no experience of dinners but I do a lot of talking to groups of parents and children in assemblies. I find it essential to 'connect' with the audience through confident body language (as you describe), eye contact and a very clear, positive start. In larger groups I tend to address those at the back but occasionally deliberately make eye contact with those nearer, including the front row. The audience will be assessing from the start what they can expect so it's good to win them over with some humour early on, but obviously save the killer jokes for later once they are warmed up. I saw a video of myself once and was horrified at how I moved about too much taking attention away from the words. I also used to speak too quickly.

Anyway, MW, I have a feeling you've got the personality to carry it off with some aplomb, but good luck away.
  • Good Luck M.Welshman,

Forget actual number of people attending and treat the event as an informal chat with a couple of friends.