Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Show not tell

edited February 2007 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• Hi everyone, I been reading a lot of writing books and I did not realise until recently how important show not tell is.  However I am having a hard time placing it into my short story I just written.  I only done the first draft and I am new to all this, but it got me thinking.  Do other more professional writers find they got to rewrite large sections of their writing because it's not written correctly, or is it just me being bad at writing stories?
  • Hello and welcome from me. 

The idea is to show what people do, rather than telling the story on their behalf.

I've had a few stories published and have been lucky in my success.  What I did, if it helps, was just kind of "become" the characters, so that I knew what they'd do or say at any point in the story.  You then have the characters' feelings, points of view, speech, actions etc. settled.

Description came into my stories in order to show moments in time or place + feelings, senses and so on.  I'm not writing a book on how to do "Show Not Tell" in this post so I hope I don't get anyone crabbing away at me for what I've missed out but the essential points are above.

Try thinking of it like a film, or tv programme: what does the reader see, hear, feel, smell, sense, taste etc?

Scene: She is cooking such and such in the kitchen.

He appears and surprises her with a gift.

She says.

He says.

And so on...

Back to scene/feelings/sensations/thoughts...