Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Help!

JoJo
edited January 2007 in - Writing Tales

Comments

• Hi -

Haven't been online for a while because I've been concentrating on my artwork and herein lies my problem! I'm an artist who's been struggling to sell work for years. I've managed ok in the past, but art simply doesn't sell. However, I'm now working on greeting card designs, so keeping my fingers crossed. My Book came to a halt some time ago - possibly a year or more - but I keep finding myself wanting to come back to it. Two big problems - the first being my lousy filing system. I can't file on the computer because I'm lousy at it and find I have odd chapters from years ago in funny places, including icons on the screen saver! Don't ask. I also have odd chapters on my laptop from years past. Trouble is, I don't want to get rid of any of it because parts of it actually read rather well, but I know I should! My own method of saving work is to save what I write on the pc then print it out to ensure a hard copy. This is then placed in a folder and filed in a metal cabinet. The work is also saved on a USP stick. The second problem is a start I don't like and a muddly middle. I do have 'The End' which I rather like, so, strictly speaking the plot is out. Now I'm returning slowly to it. The problem is, the book's my baby. I love the subject and the plot excites me. If it never publishes, never mind, (I don't expect that to happen)  but I would love to finish it! Yet another problem is that I also want to return to writing articles, something I did years ago, and even made some money at for a while! HELP!!

Jo Bennett
  • Think the problem is there is too much going on in your brain at once.
    Obviously the greeting card thing is in progress.