Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Successful Writing

JanJan
edited September 2006 in - Writing Tales

Comments

• "The One Show" 6-55p.m. tonight on BBC One. According to the trailer "Meera Syal shares advice on how to be a successful writer."

I thought this should be shared with you all, just in case it holds interest. The article may result in being waffle, I have no knowledge of the programme or the people.

Overseas folk may be able to access the programme via the www.BBC.co.uk website.

May you all enjoy a prosperous day,
                                     Jan.
  • Apologies for the blank posting.
    I forgot Webbo's instruction that quotation marks have computer language meaning, therefore will not appear for us mere participants.
  • That explains it.
  • MMMMmmm.... Maybe if meera syal didn't belong to cult of celebrity, and was just starting out her oppinions on how to be a successful writer might be a little different? It's not sour grapes, just that I was wondering if she had to send her manuscript off to several dozen agencies in order to get one? Or, did they come to her, safe in the knowedge that she would get the publicity etc???

Perhaps I'll take the "have a fling with an MP and sell the story to the News Of the World" route? Then will an agent find me?

don't get me wrong, It's a bit of an oxymoron, but some celebs have written some cracking books, but how many are ghosted?

Grumpy Milhouse.
  • Difference is, in this case, that Meera Syal's a very talented writer.
  • I thought her first novel quite brilliant and enjoyed it very much (some years ago)
  • Meera Syal's one of the good guys. I sent her a short story, and she wrote the following: