Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

What inspires you?

edited May 2006 in - Writing Tales

Comments

• I think there might already be a thread on this topic but I can't find it.

I just wondered what inspires writers to write!

What usually sets me off is overheard conversations or the odd things people do. ("I'm a writer" is a great excuse for being an eavesdropper and watching people!!

Something different was a roadsign which said "Hurtmore, Charterhouse, Norney and Shackleford".

For ages I intended to do something with that combination of names, until eventually I wrote a sketch where they were a firm of solicitors!
  • Yes they do sound like solicitors. I think you were referring to the 'where do you get your ideas from' thread. Or maybe not.
  • Listening to other writers read their writing, sometimes I can be on the train and I'll think of something, so far it's been haiku that has sprung to mind. And reading other people's work as well.
  • Maybe this will be the spring-board for someone... (overheard at the next table whilst having a pub lunch a few days ago)  "We arrived home last night to find a strange man in our bed.  Haven't a clue who he was or where he came from.  I didn't sleep a wink all night."
    (I would have liked to listen to more, but someone on our table started up a conversation with me and I didn't like to tell them to shut up.)
  • Another sketch was set off by a remark made in a very ladylike voice from a nearby restaurant table:

"He lives with another man but he likes to do his own hoovering."

Writers are loitering everywhere - we probably all provide inspiration at some point!
  • I overheard this piece and used it in a story: