Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

Research

edited April 2006 in - Writing Problems

Comments

• I'm doing the writer's bureau course at the moment. It's something I started last year and i'm having real trouble with it. It's not the assignments really, but the research. I just have this feeling that if i'm not an expert on a topic - and let's face it, i'm not an expert on much - i don't have the authority to write a piece about it. I think it's something left over from uni when it took a whole term to write an essay and you read every available text on your subject.
    Any suggestions people? I know I'm capable of the actual writing, but this is really holding me back.
  • Could you do the writing first, and then the research later? It's amazing how helpful people will be if you tell them you're doing a course, and wondered if they could provide some information.
  • How can you write about something without doing any research first?  Surely you at least have to know the basics?  For instance, if you're writing about boats, it helps to know what the parts of a boat are called.
  • I agree with both Evaine and Jay. You do need some basic background. If you were writing something set in the 19th Century, as an example, it would help to have a general wide view of the subject, then look at particular relevant areas with  more depth.
    You will already have a basic idea of how your story will start, and some of the basic research may have given you further ideas.
    If you find something lacking, as you are writing, make a note on what you need to find out or clarify, I insert a question mark in brackets with the question I need answering.
    Don't let it worry you. You'll find what works for you. Have confidence. Good luck.