Welcome to Writers Talkback. If you are a new user, your account will have to be approved manually to prevent spam. Please bear with us in the meantime

'Ignorant' students flood author with essay requests

edited November 2008 in - Reading
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/education/secondaryeducation/3533667/Ignorant-students-flood-author-with-essay-requests.html

If this is true then there are some really stupid students out there!

Comments

• How on earth do they get to that age without either manners or the ability to accept that learning involves them doing the work?
  • I sincerely hope that none of my books ends up on the reading lists!

I dont think i should comment any further on this as it might be rude! ;)
  • Having taught secondary children for 9 of the past 13 years, and having encountered the low standard of English of most students on my course (with A level English), at university when I was a student from 1991 (as a mature student of 40), I am not really surprised.
  • Not only students though - teachers as well!
  • Yes, what has happened to education in this country?
  • I now understand why my son's English Teacher said she was looking forward to teaching him English A'Level (many years into the future yet)- he can read any number of books when requested to do so, can discuss them and provide answers as to why etc.

It makes you wonder why the powers that be let the teaching system decline so much over the past thirty years.
    (No reflection on any teachers here- you are obviously the best!)
  • edited November 2008